The Love Continues for Michael Jackson 8 Years Later

The Love Continues for Michael Jackson 8 Years Later

 © hannah kozak
My three MJ dolls
© hannah kozak
Entrance to Forest Lawn – 24 June 2017

Why do I return to Forest Lawn year after year on the anniversary of Michael Jackson’s death? In a word, love.

Every year around June 25th, cards, letters, roses, flowers, gifts, balloons and sunflowers begin arriving at Forest Lawn Glendale and Neverland. I spend days meeting and talking to fans and creating photos of the love he continues to inspire. I show up because love is in my blood. It’s healing to be surrounded by these genuine expressions of love for Michael Jackson.

© hannah kozak
I have always loved Hitomi Osani’s art work from Japan. She puts so much love into each piece of art she creates.
© hannah kozak
Hand made, detailed card from Vania in Italy.
 © hannah kozak
Inside caption detail.
© hannah kozak
Card from Romania
© hannah kozak
The creativity that Michael Jackson fans pour into their cards is unlike anything I’ve ever seen.
© hannah kozak
I love the simplicity of this card.
© hannah kozak
Card from Mary K all the way from Greece.
© hannah kozak
Envelope of card from 16 Japanese fans.
 © hannah kozak
I found this card to be so beautiful. 16 fans from Japan, who met each other because of their shared love of Michael Jackson. Heal the World he sang…..
 © hannah kozak
“It has passed for eight years. However, you are still brilliant. I love you, Michael, forever. From Japan, Noriko.

Japanese fans work on their Michael Jackson tribute quilts throughout the entire year. The details of the quilt and what the fans write on their tiny sections of the quilt are creative and loving. I have always had a feeling that Michael can see all of the genuine heart-felt offerings that are left in his honor.

© hannah kozak
Quilt from Japan.
© hannah kozak
Insert from Japanese quilt from Risa.
© hannah kozak
Quilt insert from Japan.
© hannah kozak
Quilt insert.
© hannah kozak
Quilt insert from Mayuko
© hannah kozak
Quilt insert from 9 Japanese fans.
© hannah kozak
Sanae Himarwari
 © hannah kozak
MJ’s eyes and eyebrows are finely embroidered by Akko.

© hannah kozak

© hannah kozak
Yuko Katsumata
© hannah kozak
Ikuko Ozawa from Japan.
© hannah kozak
Wonderful drawing of MJ by Rita.
© hannah kozak
“I am proud to be your fan.”
© hannah kozak
Another stunning artwork.
© hannah kozak
Yai Kojima from Japan.
© hannah kozak
backside of card – Yae Kojima – Japan
© hannah kozak
Haruyo from Japan.
© hannah kozak
Tiziana Schelling from Italy.
© hannah kozak
Marisa’s lovely card.
© hannah kozak
Chris from U.K.

I am particularly moved and proud to be a part of the ‘One Rose for Michael Jackson,’ organization spearheaded by Robyn Starkland. This year, 8,527 long stem roses are delivered for Michael. We unload the boxes in the hot sun and set them up. Tomorrow, on June 26, I will join Robyn’s team and show even more love by delivering the roses to various charities across Los Angeles.

© hannah kozak
8,527 red, long stem roses line the way to Michael’s resting place.
 © hannah kozak
Robyn Starkland – Organizer of One Rose for Michael Jackson.
 © hannah kozak
The team that set up the roses from One Rose for Michael Jackson.
© hannah kozak
The entire team!

After arranging the flowers, a woman carrying a handmade Michael Jackson doll catches my eye. I meet Miyuki Amano from Tokyo, Japan. The doll was intricate and well made. I have a fondness of MJ dolls, so I asked her how long it took her to make it. “It took me three weeks,” she answered. “One day I worked on it for six hours.” She told me she has loved Michael since the day she discovered The Jacksons in 1978. I thanked her, and without a moment’s hesitation she said, “I love you.”

That is a shining example of the power of Michael Jackson. He brings people from different cultures and continents together, who don’t even know each other, yet they have no problem expressing what can sometimes be hard for close friends to say to each other: “I love you.” The magnitude of such authentic kindness made me teary.

© hannah kozak
Miyuki Amano – Tokyo, Japan
© hannah kozak
Left to Right:
Naoko Sekomune
Miyuki Amano
Hitomi Miura

I saw my friend Fanny Fung from Hong Kong. We were happy to see each other. She said she saw my recent photos on Instagram. “I would like to give you a thumbs up,” she said. More tears.

© hannah kozak
Hong Kong group
Left to right:
Miranda Yuen, Queenie Jackson, Fanny Fung,
Holy Leung, May Cheng
Jessica Kwok
Amy Chan
© hannah kozak
Gorgeous art work from Hong Kong.
© hannah kozak
Card from Cathay Cat Cat from Hong Kong

I liked the gentle nature of Jose Manuel and Sylvia Siles Rodriguez from Aran Valley, Spain. They are getting married at Forest Lawn on June 25, 2017.

© hannah kozak
Jose Manuel and Sylvia Siles Rodriquez from Aran Valley, Spain.

I was taken by Raquel Jean-Joseph’s aura immediately. I asked her about her practice and she told me her mother told her to meditate and then it came to her in a dream, because she had severe anxiety, that she needed to meditate.

© hannah kozak
Raquel Jean-Joseph was radiant in person.

And, here is Timmy Dolan, who is eleven years old. He said “I’ve been practicing Michael’s dances since I was eight. I discovered Michael by watching him on TV. I love his dance moves, he created a lot of dance moves.” When I asked him what he loved most about Michael he said “because he was kind.”

© hannah kozak
Eleven year old Timmy Dolan.

Singer Leonard Cohen wrote that there is a crack in everything, that’s how the light gets in. Michael’s light guided him throughout his life, through the good times and through the bad. He always gave credit to a higher power for his songs and ideas.

Michael was the soundtrack of my life. Driving in my 1979 white Volvo while listening to Off the Wall, and singing as loud as possible. Michael said he was here for a reason and that he loved being on stage because it made people happy. He felt it was his job. “As long as the people enjoy it, I’ll always be happy.”

© hannah kozak
Flowers from fans in China.
© hannah kozak
From fans in Japan.
 © hannah kozak
From Vicky in Japan.
© hannah kozak
From Naoko in Japan.
© hannah kozak
Sachiko, Takeshi Nakamura designed this arrangment for the 35th anniversary of Thriller.

He was a public figure from the time he could walk, talk and sing. He knew he was born to entertain and he never doubted his purpose. His commitment to his art was first and lifelong. Michael’s dedication to his craft and his discipline continue to inspire me. His message of heal the world, we are the world, and his messages of peace, love for nature, and love for each other have never been more important.

 © hannah kozak
“I will sing to achieve any purpose. I sing the only flower in the world! You look at me from heaven.
Love, Atsuko
© hannah kozak
Dear Michael, I miss you so. I want to see you again.
Harumi Onuzuka from Japan.
© hannah kozak
Quilt from fans in Ireland.
© hannah kozak
The creativity is endless.
© hannah kozak
Purple and white roses from France.

© hannah kozak

 © hannah kozak
Aunque los años pasen la herida sigue. Abierta siempre estarás en mi corazón.
Te quiero, Michael.
Carmina (Spain)
As the years go by, the wound continues. My heart is always open.
I love you, Michael.

Whenever anyone said, “I love you” whether it was family, friend or fan, Michael was famous for saying “I love you more.”

© hannah kozak

© hannah kozak

© hannah kozak
Rest in peace.
Petra

Teddy Riley, producer of Michael’s Dangerous album and co writer of Blood on the Dance Floor and Ghosts said “I’ve never witnessed anything or anyone as powerful as Michael”.

Michael was a powerful, young boy from Gary, Indiana who loved the innocence of children and animals. He would cry not only when he saw starving children, but also if he missed seeing James Brown on television. He dreamt of being the greatest entertainer in the world, and he was. Michael lived for his music and died for it too. Now, the world has unrequited love for Michael.

From Michael Jackson fans all around the globe, to the mighty boy from Gary, Indiana:

“WE LOVE YOU MORE, MICHAEL.”

© hannah kozak
I really got a thing for these MJ dolls!!!
© hannah kozak
Self Portrait with Michael Jackson

The Love Continues for Michael Jackson 8 Years Later

23 thoughts on “The Love Continues for Michael Jackson 8 Years Later

  1. Thank you so much, dear Hannah, for your beautiful and deeply touching words and photos. Thank you for showing us the wonderful love for Michael, clearly to be seen in these magnificent gifts for him! Much love to you, Sophie

    1. You are welcome, dear Sophie. I’m so happy I could get in posted in time today for you to read it. All the creative expressions of love for Michael are such a joy to witness in person. Much love to you, hannah

      1. Thank you so much Hannah. This was so eloquently written. 💖 You are so precious to me.

  2. Thank you Hannah for posting. I was supposed to be there to help set up but at the last minute was unable to make it due to selling my house and my upcoming move. it’s a good thing but in the same light, it saddened me not to be there. through your photographs, I was able to be there through your work and dedication to Michael. Great Job!. Hopefully next year I’ll be back. Thanks again

  3. Thank you, Hannah Kozak, for your wonderful pictorial documentation of the June 25, 2017 BEAUTIFUL tribute to Michael Jackson.
    Dear Michael Jackson, I love you FOREVER.<3.

  4. Thank you so much for your loving pictorial record of June 25, 2017 at Forest Lawn. It was wonderful to see all the love out there still for Michael. Bless you my friend and love to you!!!

  5. Hannah, thank you for making me feel I was there with you all. 🙂 (HUGS) I love your photos, such love and admiration for a beautiful man we called Michael Jackson. 🙂

  6. Hi Hannah, this is Timmy Dolan’s mom. So glad we met you again & once again moved by your touching article & photos. This is what I posted last year, but re-posting because my sentiments are still the same. I hope you don’t mind if I share the link with my FB friends. Thank you
    Naomi Kitano

    June 26th, 2016 at 1:06 pm
    Hi, this is Timothy’s mom. So happy to have met you and continued to be awed by so much love shown by everyone who was gathered there! Thank you for such a beautiful tribute.
    Reply

    hannahkozak

    June 26th, 2016 at 1:16 pm
    Hi Naomi. It was so wonderful to meet you and Timothy yesterday. I’m happy I met him and could have him be part of my yearly tribute to Michael’s Soldiers of Love.

  7. Michael gave a lot of love.
    As a continuity, I find this love in the tributes of the fans, and your photographs transcend.this LOVE. From France.
    Thanks Hannah ♥

  8. Hello, my name is Laura and I’m from an island in Spain. I’m a single mom and too poor to travel so far away. I love what you do every year, I admire you so much for doing this. I wish I could go there one day and hug another fan like you or all those who leave such beautiful things. If you go back next year, can I make a little card for you to take it there for me, pls? I don’t know how to e-mail you in private, I’m sorry.

    1. Dear Laura, What a beautiful message to wake up to! Which island in Spain are you from? I do what I do every year not only because I find the entire experience so healing and filled with love, but so I can share the experience with fans like you who cannot make it to Forest Lawn. I hope one day you can make it and I will be there to give you a big hug in person! Please feel free to email me at: hannahkozak@me.com I will be happy and it would be my honor to take your little card to Forest Lawn next year. There is also a group from Spain that sends cards to Forest Lawn every year. Sending you love and a big hug.

Leave a comment