Wandering through Málaga, Spain

Wandering through Málaga, Spain

It is a bucolic Málaga afternoon spent wandering through the pedestrianized center filled with restaurants, tapas bars, ice cream shops, hotels, museums. Easily located near the Hotel Molina Lario I walk into the Santa Iglesia Catedral Basílica. I am overwhelmed with emotion when I see the beauty of its interior. Sensitive and easily susceptible to emotions and especially tired from traveling, I wonder if I’m experiencing The Stendhal Syndrome. Who knows why but sublime beauty can make me weep. Not only does travel recharge my photographic battery but it always forces me to rethink our place in the world.

Santa Iglesia Catedral Basilíca - Málaga, Spain

Santa Iglesia Catedral Basilíca – Málaga, Spain

Santa Iglesia Catedral Basílica - Málaga, Spain

Santa Iglesia Catedral Basílica – Málaga, Spain

Santa Iglesia Catedral Basílica - Málaga, Spain

Santa Iglesia Catedral Basílica – Málaga, Spain

Hannah Kozak _Málaga_1098

Next stop is the vast Alcazaba, a castle built into the ramparts of the Moorish city, built between the 8th and 11th centuries on the site of a Roman fortress. There are massive fortified gates, complete with curtain walls and watchtowers surrounded by patios, gardens and pools. I’m especially drawn to the many variations of tile patterns. After walking through the partially excavated Roman amphitheatre, I sat and felt the stillness on a hot September day.

Alcazaba - Málaga, Spain

Alcazaba – Málaga, Spain

Alcazaba - Málaga, Spain

Alcazaba – Málaga, Spain

Alcazaba - Málaga, Spain

Alcazaba – Málaga, Spain

Alcazaba - Málaga, Spain

Alcazaba – Málaga, Spain

Alcazaba - Málaga, Spain

Alcazaba – Málaga, Spain

The yummy Mediterranean gives the area three hundred days of sunshine per year and even when it’s hot, it’s bearable as the winds are refreshing and Málaga enjoys a subtropical-mediterranean climate. Pablo Picasso, a rule breaker I love, was born here in Málaga. Even though Picasso’s relationship with his native city was distant, his nostalgia for his birth place remained. I visited his childhood home as well as the current exhibition.

Picasso in Málaga, Spain

Picasso in Málaga, Spain

Near Picasso's birthplace

Near Picasso’s birthplace

Málaga, Spain

Málaga, Spain

Who is your mom?  Malaga cat wandering.

Who is your mom?
Malaga cat wandering.

I have discovered photography. Now I can kill myself. I have nothing else to learn.
Pablo Picasso

Picasso

Wandering through Málaga, Spain

About hannahkozak

I am passionate about photography & have been making photos since I was a little girl. I have been a stunt woman for twenty five years. I have a passion for exploration, discovery, and escape. I dream of every place I seek to travel to. A recovering adrenaline junkie, I seek authenticity in everyday experiences. I love Kundalini Yoga,travel, books,writing and authentic, real experiences and people. I brake for squirrels. Que le vaya bien! View all posts by hannahkozak

One response to “Wandering through Málaga, Spain

Leave a Reply

