Wadi Rum, Petra and the silence of the soul

Wadi Rum, Jordan is also known as The Valley of the Moon. The desert is desolate, filled with silence, and the mind quiets if you allow the chatter to drop. I marvel at the wandering camels just as the Bedouins do. They call the camels “The Gift of G-d” because they are fast running creatures which can go sixty-two miles (one hundred kilometers) in twenty-four hours. These camels have strength and endurance and many of them attach themselves to one owner. There are many breeds of camels besides racing and burden carrying however in Wadi Rum there is a special breed developing that loves people and being caressed. Look at this cute face, almost as if she’s saying “let’s be friends.”

© hannah kozak

Camel at Wadi Rum, Jordan

In the middle of the desert we stop for tea and cookies at a Bedouin camp with tents made from goat hair followed by a breathtaking view of The Seven Pillars of Wisdom; a famous landmark, named after the book by T.E. Lawrence (Lawrence of Arabia). Discovering an unknown land brings freedom to my soul.

 © hannah kozak

Tea at Boudoin camp – Wadi Rum, Jordan

© hannah kozak

Bodouin camp – Wadi Rum, Jordan

@ hannah kozak

Seven Pillars of Wisdom – Wadi Rum, Jordan

The tour guide stops us in what seems to be the middle of nowhere and begins to pick an herb off a tree and build a fire from sticks he gathers nearby. I am charmed by our guide’s substantial gifts; a warrior who climbs the steep mountain as if it were flat ground, he is sure of himself.  He navigates through the vast desert with no GPS, creating a fresh salad in the middle of the vast space. I watch him cook onions, peppers, hot peppers on his makeshift grill and he serves my favorite,  hummus.

© hannah kozak

Lunch in Wadi Rum

© hannah kozak

Lunch in Wadi Rum desert

As I climb the summit of a naked mountain, I meet a family traveling from Madrid, Spain. The child turns to me and asks “este es un buen movimiento? o un mal movimiento?”  “Is this a good move or a bad move?” and together, while continuing to communicate to each other in Spanish, we navigate the rocks with the reach of a hand and the placement of a foot, until we reach the peak. I think of my father’s family, who were in bondage and here I am in Jordan.  I celebrate my freedom with a deep inhale and exhale at the top.

© hannah kozak

Wadi Rum view from a summit

Wadi Rum is a journey to another world where Petroglyphs are carved into the sandstone and granite, camels wander in a quiet, silent desert, the rocks seem placed here by something not of this world, and solitude is made of sand and G-d.

 © hannah kozak

Petroglyphs at Wadi Rum

© hannah kozak

Wadi Rum camel

© hannah kozak

Wadi Rum camel buddies

© hannah kozak

Wadi Rum camel friend

© hannah kozak

Random goat foot in Wadi Rum

© hannah kozak

Mama and baby camel in Wadi Rum- The baby will remain close to her mother until she reaches maturity at five years. Who’s your mom?

“I have always loved the desert. One sits down on a desert sand dune, sees nothing, hears nothing. Yet through the silence something throbs, and gleams…”

Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, The Little Prince

About hannahkozak

I am passionate about photography & have been making photos since I was a little girl. I have been a stunt woman for twenty five years. I have a passion for exploration, discovery, and escape. I dream of every place I seek to travel to. A recovering adrenaline junkie, I seek authenticity in everyday experiences. I love Kundalini Yoga,travel, books,writing and authentic, real experiences and people. I brake for squirrels. Que le vaya bien! View all posts by hannahkozak

10 responses to “Wadi Rum, Petra and the silence of the soul

  • Hope

    Hannah, these are just stunning. I so love that you get the beauty of camels.

  • sandra Klein

    Beautiful photos and words

  • Jolanta

    strong, courageous people … beautiful pictures

  • cynthia kates

    I can barely make tea with a tea kettle, I cant imagine building a meal like that from the ground up. When I think of Jordan, I feel sadness on some level because so many struggle in this region with religious instability. I guess it has gone on for so long, but even still, I wish there was peace for people in the region. Religion is the main reason most people are aware of the region and its history, yet it also has caused so much turmoil. There is a balance in life and it is hard to find. This land is truly a gem and it is understandable that the people feel the need for proprietary behavior. I pray that with time, the people who want freedom and peace will prevail.
    Thank you for sharing a little bit of life in this region so we can all desire a visit. Stay safe my friend…

  • georgie scarpato

    Wonderful, as always!! I love your heart, spirit and compassion, Hannah. I love hummus as well and would love to have been able to try this authentic dish served in such a spiritual surrounding. Love to you and your journeys ♥

  • Victor Bezrukov, photographer

    was there once but without ability to work deep enought.
    great to remember

Leave a Reply

