The Lost City of Petra, Jordan

Aqaba, Wadi Rum and Petra, Jordan are referred to as “The Golden Triangle.” Crossing into Jordan from Eilat, Israel only required showing my passport eight times. We pass through Aqaba, the only coastal city in Jordan situated at the northeastern tip of the Red Sea. Aqaba has been inhabited since 4000 BC because of the strategic location of trading routes between Asia, Africa and Europe.  For a moment, I still feel as if I’m in Israel except the giveaway is all the signs are in Arabic only while in Israel the signs are in Arabic, Hebrew and English. The long stretch of highway to begin our trek to Petra awaits us. I have a big smile on my face as I see groups of black, white and tan sheep roaming on the side of the road, thirty or more and sometimes only five to six. Random goats on the side of the paved road while a sun bronzed man rides a white donkey, slapping his hand on the donkey’s neck.  At eight thirty in the morning, I already have to strip off my thick sweatshirt, which I needed earlier. I’m hard wired for new experiences, for getting out of my comfort zone and this awakens me.

@ hannah kozak

Border crossing from Eilat, Israel to Jordan

@ hannah kozak

Donkeys en route to Petra, Jordan

I’ve been dreaming of visiting and photographing Petra for many years. I came to Israel two years ago and had the one day trip set to visit but a flu struck most of the tiny country including myself. I see tumbleweed, sage-like bushes, a lone tree now and then. In the near distance, I see a group of brown and black goats with mountains. I haven’t slept in six nights and I’m hoping the ride will lull me to sleep but I don’t want to miss a goat-herd sighting. The two hour drive in the desert is quieting and then the arrival at Petra. Petra is much more than what you see in the Indiana Jones movie. It was originally meant to be a cemetery, where the rich had a place carved into the stones. The Nabateans, clever and practical people, turned it into a trading city and until the Romans invaded, it was thriving for hundreds of years. Paved roads, agricultural terraces, water harvesting systems, artwork, temples, even theatres. They were open to all cultural influences and if you look at any carved monument, you see the influence of Egyptian, Mesopotamian and Graeco-Roman, all fused into a grand unified network.  I love the camels and find their faces fascinating.

@ hannah kozak

Petra

@ hannah kozak

Camels at Petra

@ hannah kozak

Donkey in Petra, Jordan

@ hannah kozak

The Treasury in Petra, Jordan

Lunch midday in Petra was a delicious mix of vegetables, rice, potatoes. I found the food in Petra yummy everywhere I ate.

@ hannah kozak

Lunch at Petra

UNESCO has named this a World Heritage Site since 1985. This rose-red city is a must see before you die. Here are some additional shots from my day in this 8th wonder of the world.

@ hannah kozak

The Treasury in Petra, Jordan

@ hannah kozak

Camel in front of The Treasury at Petra, Jordan

@ hannah kozak

Camel – Petra, Jordan

@ hannah kozak

Camel at The Treasury – Petra, Jordan

@ hannah kozak

Girl in Petra, Jordan

@ hannah kozak

Petra, Jordan

@ hannah kozak

Petra cat

The Amra Palace hotel was full of surprises at every turn. For a mere 13 JD- Jordanian Dollar, which is US $18, there was a Turkish bath, steam room, body scrub, complete massage followed by a cup of tea in the Turkish bath and a giant pool that I had all to myself.  After walking through Petra all day with camera gear, I was aching and the treatment helped me to finally sleep after seemingly endless jet lag.

@ hannah kozak

The pool at The Amra Palace-Petra, Jordan

I woke up to an incredible breakfast selection. Four types of homemade yogurt; strawberry, blueberry, plain and vanilla with dates and figs from the desert, which I view from outside the window in my hotel.  A cook is making perfectly round mini pancakes. Apple, oranges, apricots, grapefruits, cheeses, tomato, cucumber, hummus in a dining room of marble pillars overlooking a garden of hibiscus flowers. Trip Advisor has given the Amra Palace Hotel a certificate of excellence and so do I.

@ hannah kozak

Breakfast at The Amra Palace- Petra, Jordan

@ hannah kozak

Jordanian newspaper

About hannahkozak

I am passionate about photography & have been making photos since I was a little girl. I have been a stunt woman for twenty five years. I have a passion for exploration, discovery, and escape. I dream of every place I seek to travel to. A recovering adrenaline junkie, I seek authenticity in everyday experiences. I love Kundalini Yoga,travel, books,writing and authentic, real experiences and people. I brake for squirrels. Que le vaya bien! View all posts by hannahkozak

5 responses to “The Lost City of Petra, Jordan

  • Russ Dupont

    Wonderful, Hannah. Love the photos of the smiling camel. Hope you are taking a lot of portraits of the “locals.”

  • cynthia kates

    Hannah, How AMAZING are these photos and your wonderful trip? ! Just spectacular. For someone like me who would LOVE to go there, this is just more motivation. The colors are so vibrant and it seems as though the world has not changed there, nor does it need to. You have just made me very hungry too-if I could have a breakfast like that everyday, I would be in heaven. This is all just my style! Thank you for capturing it all for us! Keep it coming and stay safe!

  • georgie scarpato

    Everything about this blog is fantastic. Your photos, narrative, the subject of the photos…..everything. What a stunning place. Would love to go there. Thank you, Hannah, for sharing your world, my friend ♥

Leave a Reply

