Cecilia Mandrile’s dolls and the impermanence of life

I met Cecilia Mandrile because I liked very much and was captivated by the doll houses she created and traveled with. She wanted to portray impermanence through her traveling projects. Cecilia creates prints from scanned fragments of her own body and would disguise self portraits in her dolls, carrying and leaving them in buses, stations, streets and airplanes. Cecilia thought art was a fairytale she could never be part of but her grandmother, a painter and piano professor, encouraged her.

Cecilia loves to travel for she says “you see yourself from a distance and get out of yourself.” Traveling helps her to sort out what she’s feeling. She believes traveling makes you more open, respectful and kind because when you travel and come back, you come back to the same place but you change. “To me, art and creativity has to be with feeling incomplete. Art is problem solving.” she told me. Cecilia had an accident, a brain injury, where she was in an emotional coma. “When you are really sick, it silences you. It’s like emptiness” she shared. “When you translate that wound, sadness can transform into positive. “She also told me she admired her mother who went back to school at fifty four years old for a degree in photography.  “I’m for you these days, before night, before I die” she told me when I flew into Córdoba to spend a week with her.

Her first approach to art was through literature and she became known as the official poet of her grade school. She received her PhD from Bristol School of Art, Media and Design; an MFA from the University of Maryland and a BFA from the National University of Córdoba, Argentina. I immediately loved the unusual look of her website. I don’t know where she gets her heart but it is big and beautiful.

http://www.ceciliamandrile.com/

http://www.see-art.com/pages/mandrile.html

Cecilia Mandrile’s dolls with bed

Speaking of beautiful hearts, Cecilia introduced me to Lucrecia Urbano, who runs Zona Imaginaria, where she teaches art to children and print making to adults. Lucrecia was kind enough to take me to Museo De Arte Tigre outside of Buenos Aires, Argentina. Museo De Arte Tigre is located in a 1912 social club and is worth a visit just to see the architecture of the building.

Here are some paintings at Museo De Arte Tigre by Argentinian artists:

Milo Lockett is known for his tireless humanitarian work. He has been donating his paintings over 40 years to benefit Unicef and Children’s Hospital.

Milo Lockett

Milo Lockett

Atilio Malinverno was born in Buenos Aires and was a master of landscapes. I only saw one painting of his at the museum and wanted to find out more about him. His website is filled with breath taking paintings.

http://www.malinverno.com/

Atilio Malinverno – Ultimos rayos – 1927

Benito Quinquela Martin (1890- January 28, 1977) was born in La Boca, Buenos Aires.  He was buried in a coffin made for him the previous year that stated “Que quien vivió rodeado de color no puede ser enterrado en una caja lisa”, which translates to “He who lived surrounded by colors cannot be buried in a flat box.” His coffin had a painting of the port of La Boca on it.

Benito Quinquela Martín – Veleros Iluminados – 1950  

child in Museo de Arte Tigre museum

Cat in Córdoba, Argentina with one blue eye and one green eye

Cecelia Mandrile in Córdoba, Argentina

Olivia taking in the sights at Iglesia de la Compañia, Córdoba

Recoleta, Buenos Aires, Argentina

Olivia says the best part of traveling is coming home with more appreciation of what she has. Sí, es la verdad” I told her in complete agreement.  

About hannahkozak

I am passionate about photography & have been making photos since I was a little girl. I have been a stunt woman for twenty five years. I have a passion for exploration, discovery, and escape. I dream of every place I seek to travel to. A recovering adrenaline junkie, I seek authenticity in everyday experiences. I love Kundalini Yoga,travel, books,writing and authentic, real experiences and people. I brake for squirrels. Que le vaya bien! View all posts by hannahkozak

Leave a Reply

