Return to Guatemala

Returning to Guatemala

From the time I moved to Israel when I was twenty years old, my intuition has been a guiding compass in my life. I’ve never been satisfied with only seeking to understand my own culture in America. Guatemala and Israel are places I’ve returned to over and over again.

This is my sixth visit to Guatemala. Each time I visit I know I will experience something magnificent along the way. Twenty-two distinct Mayan indigenous tribes, perfect weather because Guatemala is the most north of the Central American countries, and the weather is agreeable all year round. The climate changes depend on the altitude of the area but it is basically hot. I love it. I started the trip with a stop in Guatemala City for one night before making my way to Lake Atitlan, my refuge.

View from Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort, Santa Cruz, Lake Atitlan

View from Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort, Santa Cruz, Lake Atitlan


Breakfast - desayuno @ Hotel Barcelo

Breakfast – desayuno @ Hotel Barcelo

Making corn tortillas in Panajachel
Child at Panajachel

Child at Panajachel

Child at Panajachel

Child at Panajachel

Child at Panachajel

Child at Panachajel

Child at Panajachel

Child at Panajachel

Lake Atitlan @ Panajachel

Lake Atitlan @ Panajachel

Child at Panajachel

Child at Panajachel

Little boy - Panachajel

Little boy – Panachajel

Self portrait - Laguna Lodge

Self portrait – Laguna Lodge

Here is a favorite quote of mine from Anais Nin, who was always a source of inspiration for me. Nin challenged conventionally defined gender roles and always sought out travel.

quote-we-travel-some-of-us-forever-to-seek-other-states-other-lives-other-souls-anais-nin-136076

Give the girl a passport

Returning to Guatemala

About hannahkozak

I am passionate about photography & have been making photos since I was a little girl. I have been a stunt woman for twenty five years. I have a passion for exploration, discovery, and escape. I dream of every place I seek to travel to. A recovering adrenaline junkie, I seek authenticity in everyday experiences. I love Kundalini Yoga,travel, books,writing and authentic, real experiences and people. I brake for squirrels. Que le vaya bien! View all posts by hannahkozak

3 responses to “Return to Guatemala

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,200 other followers

