Jerusalem – The most venerated site on earth

Jerusalem –  The Most Venerated Site on Earth

From the Arthur Hotel in Jerusalem located on the famous Dorot Rishonim Street, I overlook the walking area of Ben-Yehuda Street, named after the founder of modern Hebrew, Eliezer Ben-Yehuda. Yehuda believed Hebrew and Zionism shared a symbiotic relationship.  This location is a perfect ten-minute walk from the Old City. As I feel the warm evening breeze, I hear the buzz of this midrachov, pedestrian mall. I hear the sounds of this historic city as I watch people eating at sidewalk cafes. Street musicians play their guitars as the smell of falafel cooking is in the air, while cats wander about looking up to me to say hello in the land of milk and honey. On the Sabbath morning, I hear the sound of silence. No cars, buses, or people’s voices, only the quiet that comes from respecting the day of rest.

© hannah kozak

Child in Jerusalem

Between Egypt and Mesopotamia a land bridge known as Canaan connected Africa to Asia. This land passage of Canaan which became Israel was a geopolitical death trap then and today. It was predestined to be a battlefield of the ages and is one of the most volatile locations on our planet. Scholars and holy men find her to be the navel of the world. I like to visit elevated places that are instructional and educational so Jerusalem is a perfect fit. The Four Quarters of the Old City are made up of The Jewish, Muslim, Armenian and the Christian quarters. Jerusalem causes one to look more closely at everything, not just observe and definitely stop judging.

© hannah kozak

Mother and children on the Sabbath in The Jewish Quarter, Jerusalem

Abraham’s wanderings were around 1800 BC. The first written mention of Jerusalem appeared on Egyptian clay pottery known as execration texts around 1850 BC. Jerusalem has been called the most venerated site on earth, a halfway house between heaven and earth. The Jews have always loved Jerusalem the most, almost like a best friend where the love is constant, Jerusalem never fails to give me hope and strength.

© hannah kozak

Child in Jerusalem

© hannah kozak

Boys at school in Jerusalem

I wandered into this shop called Sinjilawi while I was in the Muslim Quarter of Jerusalem. The colors, fabrics, smells of incense, lights and pottery grabbed my attention as I spoke to Omar Hamad, who explained to me that nine generations of his family have owned this business in the Arabic section of the Old City. I loved peeking down the fifty nine foot (eighteen meter) well that is inside their store.

© hannah kozak

Sinjlawi – Old City, Jerusalem

© hannah kozak

Sinjlawi – Old City, Jerusalem

@ hannah kozak

Sinjlawi – Old City, Jerusalem

© hannah kozak

Children – Jerusalem

@ hannah kozak

Jerusalem

© hannah kozak

Jerusalem

© hannah kozak

Jerusalem

© hannah kozak

Israeli soldiers – Jerusalem

© hannah kozak

Jerusalem

Israeli soldiers - Jerusalem

Israeli soldiers – Jerusalem

© hannah kozak

A favorite falafel shop in the Old City, Jerusalem

© hannah kozak

Children in Jewish Section- Jerusalem

© hannah kozak

Children in Jewish Quarter -Jerusalem

© hannah kozak

Jerusalem

© hannah kozak

The Old City – Jerusalem

© hannah kozak

Children playing – Old City, Jerusalem

© hannah kozak

Near the Jaffa Gate – Old City, Jerusalem

© hannah kozak

Israeli Soldiers – Old City, Jerusalem

 hannah kozak

Old City, Jerusalem

© hannah kozak

Jerusalem cat- I bring fish in my pocket to share with the wandering cats

© hannah kozak

Shop in Jerusalem

© hannah kozak

Another delicious breakfast in Israel – @ Arthur Hotel

© hannah kozak

Where do the children play? Old City, Jerusalem

About hannahkozak

I am passionate about photography & have been making photos since I was a little girl. I have been a stunt woman for twenty five years. I have a passion for exploration, discovery, and escape. I dream of every place I seek to travel to. A recovering adrenaline junkie, I seek authenticity in everyday experiences. I love Kundalini Yoga,travel, books,writing and authentic, real experiences and people. I brake for squirrels. Que le vaya bien! View all posts by hannahkozak

3 responses to “Jerusalem – The most venerated site on earth

  • Rina Shapira

    Hannah,
    Great series of pictures of the old city. Brings back memories or the many times I wandered those streets, the fragrance of the spice and incense shops, the colorful dried fruits and nuts, the beautiful jewelry, and the non-stop shuffling of the many feet running up and down. A feast for the senses.
    Rina

  • hannahkozak

    Rina,
    Glad you enjoyed my view of the old city. Each time I visit Jerusalem, I am witness to a world where old meets new especially now coming from Mamilla outside the Jaffa Gate. My wanderings bring a smile to my face and I’ve always loved seeing the children running around.

  • georgie scarpato

    Adore these photos….and you!!! I can almost feel myself there!!! Love love love ♥

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,200 other followers

